Victorian Minister for Industry Lily D’Ambrosio has announced the opening of nominations for the 2015 Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame Awards.

The Hall of Fame recognises Victoria’s most advanced and export-oriented manufacturers who excel in business innovation and productivity and contribute to the Victorian economy. The Manufacturing Hall of Fame Award categories include Manufacturer of the Year, Company Induction, Honour Roll, and Young Manufacturer of the Year.

“The 2015 Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame Awards present an opportunity for all manufacturers to be recognised for their industry success,” said Minister D’Ambrosio. “Manufacturing contributes $25bn to the Victorian economy. This award recognises forward- thinking manufacturers who are raising the bar in the industry, to help ensure the future of manufacturing in Victoria.”

The Victorian Manufacturing Hall of Fame Awards were established in 2001 to celebrate manufacturing excellence in Victoria. At last year’s awards ceremony, SRX Global (Australia), Future Fibre Technologies of Mulgrave and Thermofilm Australia were named as Manufacturer of the Year in the large, medium and small categories respectively. In addition, AMTIL members APT and Maton were among nine companies inducted into the Hall of Fame with a total of 16 individuals or companies receiving recognition as representing the very best of the state’s manufacturing industry.

This year there will be six new categories reflecting the six sectors with potential for extraordinary economic growth: medical technology and pharmaceuticals; new energy technology; food and fibre processing; transport; defence and construction technology; international education and professional services. These sectors of the economy are central to the Victorian Government’s plan to create 100,000 jobs, assisted by its $200m Future Industries Fund.

The judging panel will be seeking creative solutions to manufacturing challenges, especially those which use innovation to improve productivity and access new markets. Nominations close on 13 February, with awards to be announced at a gala ceremony on 26 May.

“I would encourage Victorian businesses across the six sectors which have potential for extraordinary economic growth to nominate for the awards by visiting the Business Victoria website,” added Minister D’Ambrosio.